An Era in College Baseball Comes to an End

The Miami Hurricanes baseball team’s streak of 44 straight years in the NCAA tournament has ended.

Miami was not amongst the 64 teams picked to play for another national title on Monday when the tournament bracket was announced. The run of 44 straight tournaments dating back to 1972 was the longest for any NCAA sport in history.

Miami had not missed a tournament since 1972 while winning four national titles during that same period.

Jim Morris the coach for the Hurricanes said it had been a privilege to have been a part of the run of 44 straight tournaments that was unmatched in NCAA history.

Florida State a rival in the ACC now has the longest active streak of tournament appearances at 40 straight years. FSU will host a regional this season but was not given a national seed following its win on Sunday in the ACC championship.

Oregon State the Pac-12 title holder is the overall No. 1 seed in the field. The Beavers are 49-4 and set a new Pac-12 record with 27 conference wins and dominated more than any other team this season.

Pat Casey the coach at Oregon State said the 49 wins in 54 games thus far were very special, but did not mean anything from this point forward.

North Carolina, which did not reach the tournament the last two years, was given the No. 2 overall seed as it has won 18 of its past 22 games.

The remaining seeds are Florida, LSU, Texas Tech, TCU, Louisville and Stanford.

Coastal Carolina will not defend its national championship of 2016. The school won its Sun Belt Conference title for the regular season but lost during the conference tournament’s quarterfinals.

Miami lost a number of talented players to the major league baseball draft in 2017 and was hit with numerous injuries.

The conference with the most teams selected was the SEC with eight, while the Big 12 and ACC each will be represented by seven teams, and the Big Ten has five.

Surprise automatic bids were by Rice in Conference USA, Iowa in the Big Ten, Oklahoma State from the Big 12 and Xavier in the Big East, with each of the four gaining berths by winning their respective conference tournaments.

Tournament play will begin on Friday with 16 regionals kicking off. Winners will advance to eight super regionals that are best of three. Those winners then will move on to Omaha, Nebraska for the College World Series.