Edmonton Oilers Star Connor McDavid Earns Top Awards

Connor McDavid is the future of the NHL. The amazing 20-year old center for the Edmonton Oiler was awarded the Hart Trophy Wednesday night, being crowned the MVP of the NHL for just the first time in his young NHL career. He also took home two more awards on Wednesday as the NHL handed out season ending honors.

Having secured the Art Ross Trophy a long time ago, as the high scorer of the NHL, McDavid was also given the Ted Lindsay Award, which goes to the player voted the most outstanding in the league by members of the players association.

McDavid is only the 10th NHL player to win the three awards during the same year and he becomes just the third to win the Hart Trophy prior to being 21 years old. The previous two were Wayne Gretzky and Sidney Crosby.

That is being in the company of greats, but McDavid took his first giant step during the season toward fulfilling all the lofty expectations many have had for the youngster even prior to Edmonton making him the 2015 NHL Draft’s first overall pick.

The native of Ontario scored 30 goals while adding 70 assists, which led the league and led Edmonton to its first appearance in the playoffs in the past 11 years.

McDavid beat out both Crosby and Sergei Bobrovsky for the Hart trophy. However, Bobrovsky, the Blue Jackets netminder did win the Vezina Trophy as the top goalie in the NHL beating out Braden Holtby from the Washington Capitals and Carey Price with Montreal.

The league’s Norris Trophy, which goes to the top defenseman, was awarded to Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks. It was the first time a player with San Jose won the award. Burns beat out Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson and Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman.

Calgary Flames Johnny Gaudrea was awarded the Lady Byng Trophy for his sportsmanlike play beating out Minnesota’s Mikael Granlund and St. Louis’ Vladimir Tarasenko.

Aly Raisman an Olympic gymnast helped to present that particular award and former NHL legend Marcel Dionne, who is 65, caused an awkward moment when he looked at her and said, “Look at those legs!”

As most expected Auston Matthews from Toronto was awarded the Calder Trophy as the top rookie in the league, beating out Patrik Laine from the Jets and Zach Werenski from the Blue Jackets.

Matthews was the first Maple Leafs player to win the Calder since 1966 when it was awarded to Brit Selby.